My most favorite book is the first Harlequin I ever read.

My Most Favorite Book – My first Harlequin – Summer Rainfall by Kerry Allyne

Picture this:

July 1977. A 17 year old Jan Springer is on a trip with her family to visit relatives in Switzerland…Jan doesn’t speak Swiss and her relatives don’t speak English – and the awesome scenery can only do so much…can Jan say she was BORED stiff? Shhh, don’t tell the relatives…LOL

Matterhorn

Until Jan spied a bookshelf of English books in a store! Yes there is a God!!

But my parents only allowed me one book to buy…back then money was tight (yes even with a trip to Switzerland money was tight)…and so I picked “Summer Rainfall” by Kerry Allyne.

summer rainfall

Before that magical book, my reading pleasures were been limited to, Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, and the occasional “Get Smart” paperbacks. “Summer Rainfall” was my first EVER Harlequin book and boy was I hooked. LOLOL…Little did I know that book would set me on the path of writing romances many years down the road.

I must have read “Summer Rainfall” from cover to cover several times during that trip and when my parents noticed I kept reading the same book…okay so it was the ONLY book I had…I was allowed to buy another ONE…of course it was another Harlequin and I cannot remember the name but it was good too. lolol

Here’s a blurb for “Summer Rainfall”:

She’d been duly warned, of course.

But what really got her dander up was Rafe O’Sullivan’s taunts that she wasn’t the type to manage a farm.

She had inherited the twenty-acre piece of land near Australia’s north coast and, fed up with city life, had decided to give the country life a try. Unfortunately, the land was smack dab in the middle of Rafe’s, and he badly wanted her to sell out to him.

Not on your life, she said to herself.

“Summer Rainfall” has action, adventure and a very nice romance. If you ever have a chance to grab a copy, then do so, you won’t be disappointed!  Here’s a link to Kerry Allyne’s Harlequin booklist: http://www.romancewiki.com/Kerry_Allyne

Hugs and Happy Reading!

Jan Springer

sig

About Jan Springer Erotic Romance Author

Jan Springer writes erotic romances for Spunky Girl Publishing, Siren, Total E Bound, Pocket Books and other publishers. Jan is a member of the Romance Writers of America and The Writer's Union of Canada. She loves hearing from her readers. Visit her website at http://www.janspringer.com

Posted on August 30, 2013, in Books, Jan Springer, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I read that book when I was in high school! My mom and both grandmas were avid Harlequin readers so naturally I started reading Harlequins as my first “grown up” romance novels. I still have the first romance I read. It’s Country Of The Vine by Mary Wibberley. And one of my favorites from high school is The Voice In The Thunder by Elizabeth Hunter. Still have it too!

  2. Hi Susan!
    Me too! I still have a few of my first Harlequins too!

  3. I have a shelf dedicated to my favorite Harlequins. I’ve thinned it and added to it then refound old favorites I had traded and wanted back. Shh! Don’t tell but I might be a book hoarder! LOL!

Leave a Reply

