There Is Nothing Impossible To Her Who Will Try

I tweaked Alexander the Great’s quote a little (the original has him instead of her), but despite all my trying I could not narrow it down to my all-time favourite book. Instead I chose a book I remember being so very excited about that I couldn’t stop boring a friend over dinner;).

Dream Man by Linda Howard (1994)

*stares fondly at cover*

Oh, the days when you didn’t need an image as your front cover. Anyway, I didn’t read the book until a few years after it had been published. At that time I lived in Germany and I had just discovered a way to lay hands on English language books. Not an easy feat at that time, let m tell you.

I read the book and remember turning the last page, lying back on my bed and staring at the ceiling with tears running down my cheeks. Not because the book was sad or I didn’t like it. But because it was over! I was back in the real world and no longer following Marlie and Dane on their adventure trying to track down a serial killer through Marlie’s psychic powers. I probably lay there for close to thirty minutes. Then I went back to the first page and read the book again.

A few days later a friend and I went for dinner. We chatted about everything under the sun and somehow ended up talking about books and reading. I chewed off her ear, gushing about the writing, the story, how amazing it had been to disappear into the world Linda had created and how I couldn’t wait to read more of her books. And my friend really wasn’t a romance reader;). Luckily she understood and we shared books we’d read and left the world behind.

I went on to read and re-read all of Linda’s books until a few years ago when she moved over to women’s fiction. Another one of my favourites is The MacKenzies. It saved my life on a long flight because the two stories sucked me under and made me forget I was 30,000 feet in the air. I HATE flying.

I haven’t read either of those books in a very long time, but they both moved to Canada with me. I am definitely seeing a re-read in my very near future.

Do you remember a book where you were surprised or disoriented to find yourself back in the real world after it ended?

Tina Christopher

Writer of Sexy Steampunk and Sensuous Sci-Fi available at Ellora’s Cave and Amazon.

About Tina Christopher

Erotic Romance writer

Posted on August 31, 2013, in Tina Christopher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just recommended Dream Man to Anna at Herding Cats and Burning Soups the other day! It’s one of the books that I’ve read multiple times! And let’s talk Mackenzies! Have you read all four books? Zane’s book, Mackenzie’s Pleasure is my favorite out of all of them but I’ve still read all four too many times to count. Maris even has a novella in an anthology. I haven’t bought the last several Linda Howard books because her writing started changing several years ago and I’ve lost interest in her new stories.

    • Lol, that is so funny, Susan. I totally hear you about Linda’s style changing. OMG, I love the MacKenzies! I think Wolf and Chance are my two favourites, but let me re-read the whole series and I may change my mind;). Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I’ve had several books like that Tina.
    “Baby in His Cradle” (Harlequin) and Midnight Stranger (Harlequin) and also Bonnie Leon’s “Alaskan series” to name a few…I love getting sucked in by books!!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

