A Little 1960’s Love


shutterstock_43873468I’m feeling very warm and fuzzy over this week’s MANhandler photos. Such lovely, lovely arms…and we all know how I feel about arms.

This is, by far, the post that has pushed me farthest from my comfort zone. I’m not a sci-fi reader, so when I had to come up with my favorite droid I’d like to have stop by for a day, I’m ashamed only one thing came to mind: the Jettsons. I know, it’s a little off the wall, but when I think of what I would most want, all I can think of is Rosie. (Sorry, Bumblebee and Optimus Prime — I suck.)

It always fascinated me to see the way we “would” live in the future. As a kid, I was pretty sure Hanna-Barbera was right on the money. Surely there would be boxes in the wall that spit out your favorite foods and we’d get around in funny cars that both hovered, rolled and flew. We’d all have giant dogs that could almost talk and hopping around space would be no more difficult than slapping a goldfish bowl on your head. But most of all, we’d have Rosie.
The Jetsons

Long before the sensual romance covers and my discovery of supremely spicy romance, the idea I could have a robot to do all my chores absolutely set my little heart aflutter. Just thinking about having someone come in and keep my house neat as a pin makes me lightheaded. I could lounge around like Jane and have a perfect figure and perfect hair and zero responsibility. Sure, she was a little saucy, but that was part of her charm. She might mouth off, but she still zoomed around the house getting everything done while Jane lazed the day away.

Imagine my horror when I got married and didn’t get a Rosie as a wedding gift. There were bitter tears, people. Bitter. Tears.

As fiercely sexy as Bumblebee is (shout out to my love of all things Transformers), Rosie is the one who makes me yearn for crazy technological advancements. Forget the flying cars. I want clean socks.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Denise Tompkins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

