I’m not old. I’m just finely aged…

Most days I don’t feel that old… In fact, there are days I feel as though I’m still eighteen. Today really isn’t one of those days, because SOMEBODY asked about TV shows that date me, and I was forced to admit my age. Truthfully, I wasn’t really allowed to watch TV before I was a pre-teen (not that I really wanted to, with only one TV station!) so my TV watching really didn’t start until…well… late enough, okay??

So, here I am, contemplating TV shows, and being guided by the crushes I had on the male (and occasionally female) characters. I’ll confess the three I remembered with exceptional fondness, from latest to oldest…

Nikita-Michael-la-femme-nikita-883159_1024_768La Femme Nikita—the original, of course, with Peta Wilson and Roy Dupuis—which ran from 1997 to 2001. Oh, my, how I loved Nikita… and Michael. I’d’ve done either of them had they come calling. This was the first truly conflicted, kick-ass heroine I remember seeing, and I was blown away. Loved the plot. Loved the conflict. Loved the sense of darkness and danger and an inability to escape any of it… Yeah…

 

adrian-paul-highlander-tv-seriesHighlander, the series (1992-1998) with the delicious Adrian Paul, who wasn’t really that good looking but had the kind of presence and body that could make a woman lose her mind just a little. He could TANGO, people! And carried a sword! And wore a long, sexy coat to hide said sword. (As an aside, anyone who doesn’t appreciate just how much male fashion really does change needs to watch this show. Who remembers when jean looked as though they started up under a man’s shoulderblades???) Oh, and Peter Wingfield was in it too… and I thought him rather yummy. Not as delectable as Duncan MacLeod, but hey, who was?

 

So, what show that I loved dates me the most?

magnum_piMagnum PI (1980-1988).

Tom Selleck was awesome—handsome, personable, anti-establishment. I wanted to be his girlfriend, zooming around in his flashy (borrowed) car, flying in the helicopter, getting into scrapes with him… getting into everything with him. I have no problem admitting I had a poster of him up on my wall until my parents were about to sell their house, which wasn’t really that long ago. It started out in my bedroom and stayed exactly where I’d first put it when that room became my sewing room. *sigh* And, you know what? He’s still got it. Well, not the anti-establishment part in his roles lately, but the rest of it? Oh, yeah, he’s still got it! (And who knew Donnie Wahlberg would turn out so well after his boy-band start??)bluebloods

You know what? If I can still remember those days, and still feel excited when talking about them, maybe I’m not as old I think I am! 🙂

About anyarichards

Romantic, pragmatist, everyday feminist with a million characters in her head clamoring to have their stories told :)

Posted on October 7, 2013, in Anya Richards, Men, TV shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Duncan Macleod and Magnum, P.I. Just, yum! My grandma always said that Tom Selleck was the sexiest man alive. It used to just irritate my grandpa to death! LOL!!!

  2. LOL! Suz, now you’re REALLY making me feel old, but that’s okay… Tom Selleck’s old too! A match made in heaven, but don’t tell the hubby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

