Oh the Horror of It

Sabrina bows her head. She has a confession to make. “I can’t hack horror in books or movies or shows.” Sad face. 😦

I have climbed a rock face, traveled alone in a foreign country, asked a guy to the junior prom, made a keynote speech but I cannot sit through a horror movie and keep my popcorn down.

It all started at a seventh grade sleepover. Psycho was playing. From that day until I started college, I never took a shower with the curtain closed. My mother eventually gave up on me. But I never really could remove the psycho shower scene in my head.

The Bates Motel

The Bates Motel

In college, I learned to shut the shower door. Older and wiser (at least I thought so at the time), I tried again. The now classic film, Halloween.  I went with my boyfriend, so grabbing onto him every time Michael showed up was actually a pretty good thing.  Fear mastered.

Or so I thought.

Then we got home.  A friend, in a hoodie pulled up over his head, jumped me from behind. To be cute.

I shattered, fell to the floor, lost my ability to breathe, completely freaked my friends and boyfriend out. And my experimentation with horror movies, from that moment, was over.

To this day, I avoid them. So that, is my sad story, and why I do not have any favorite horror movie or book or anything else to share.

However, I do love the holiday of Halloween. For some reason, I do not classify monsters as horror. They’re just fun.  Buddies to pal around with. Romance figures to write stories about.  Or maybe its just the candy?  Twizzlers anyone?

Our house at Halloween

Our house at Halloween

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    Why I hate horror movies.

  2. The only horror movie that ever bothered me was The Entity. After that I heard every sound our house made and just knew a spirit was out to get us. LOL! I don’t recommend that movie for you. LOL!!!

  3. I’m the same way. I’m very careful about what media I consume. If it changes my mood for the worst (even if it’s a great show), it’s not worth it.

  4. I’m with you, Sabrina. I never even once saw Psycho, and I don’t intend to. I don’t do horror movies or books. I cringe when I look at the ugly Halloween costumes with brains falling out and all the blood and guts and gore. As with the ever increasing violence in movies, the marketers have to keep turning up the gore as our society becomes numb to it. I think that anyone who has known this kind of ugliness in real life might not find it so amusing. I never let my kids watch those things, because I didn’t want them to have the visual images seared into their minds. When they were old enough, they read the newspaper and that was gore enough for them too. Now they watch or read whatever they want, and sometimes there is violence, but never gratuitous.
    We love Halloween, as we have always loved dressing up. But our costumes are creative rather than gory. This year Bea and two of her dorm friends are all dressing up like their friend Michael, who is a very distinct dresser, and I’m sure he will be surprised and amused and flattered.
    Happy Halloween!

  5. I’m glad to find someone else who does not do horror but loves Halloween. Halloween is big at our house for the creative component–decorating, cooking, planning parties, costumes. Its about fun, letting your imagination go, not horror. Happy Halloween back at you.

Leave a Reply

