Scared Senseless — Terror, Scooby Doo and Motorcycle Boots

This, MANhandlers, is the photo that launched a thousand ideas. It is my inspiration, my happy and  my favorite photo. Not as explicit as some of the others, but there’s simply something about this man that makes me rawr. Enjoy!

I put off this week’s post as long as possible. I’m writing it about an hour before it’s due. I’m normally not such a procrastinator. In fact, I try to have my posts done early so I know they’re up for you to peruse at your leisure. But this time? It’s not that I didn’t want to send out the MANhandler shout out, but I had nothing to offer for the (ahem) meat of the post. We’re discussing favorite horror movies, books, shows, magazines — whatever. I’ve got nothin’.  I blame Halloween.

When I was little, not quite two, my mom dressed me as Raggedy Andy. I was freakin’ adorable. Then she and Dad took me trick or treating. We lived in Sacramento, California. I remember going, being very unsure of myself with the older kids, but people were giving me candy. Once I got that part figured out? I was golden.

We hit a few houses in the neighborhood and then went to The House. The man was dressed as a werewolf — mask, ragged clothes, big paws, scary-ass feet. He was terrifying older kids. Me? I lost my sh…tuff. The man removed his costume and got down on my level, tried to give me candy. Even then, I was nobody’s fool. I’d seen the monster behind the man, thank you very much, and my “Stranger Danger” alert was at DefCon 8 on a scale of 0-5. Dude had a bigass, terrifying creature locked inside him and I was the only one who seemed aware of this tidy little fact. 

Things like this tend to leave a mark on a child and shape how she sees the world. I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, it created in me a true fear of monsters and mythology and things that go bump in the night. I always had an overactive imagination, but that night has been fodder for a lifetime of I’m-no-chainsaw-wielding-psycho’s-victim-chick-who’s-going-to-trip-in-the-woods-but-thanks mental ramblings that make me cross dark spaces quickly and get the heebie-jeebies when I walk down an unlit hall. So to come up with something like a favorite horror movie? There’s just no such thing as a “favorite.” I’m reduced to choosing between Scooby Doo episodes. Sorry, folks. I yam what I yam.

What about you? Do you love to get the wits scared out of you? Do you thrive on having to change your shorts after a movie? Or are you content to live in well-lit spaces? If so, come sit by me.

 

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Denise Tompkins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. When I was younger I love getting scared out of my wits! Haunted houses were my favorite Halloween event. My friends and I would go to as many as we could. Now I would rather watch a psychological thriller than a horror. The new horror are just gory now scary.

  2. I went through a brief period where I truly tried to get into the scary, but found “horror” equalled “gore,” just as you said. Some of the psychological thrillers I’ve seen were good, but I get seriously freaked anymore. I’m slowly moving toward a mental Disney-like state of consciousness. LOL (begins humming “The Little Mermaid” soundtrack…)

    Thanks for stopping by! I love chatting with readers. (shifts song to “These Are A Few of My Favorite Things”…)

    Denise

  3. I still like scary movies. Unfortunately, it takes a lot for me to get scared. Gore does not equal scary to me. I’m with Suzlyne…psychological thrillers are the way to go.

  4. I *wish* it took a lot to scare me. 🙂 Things like “Saw”? Holy crackers. Nightmare material. I’m just not a blood-and-guts gal. The psychological thrillers can be good, though. I agree. It’s so odd because I write some darker stuff and it doesn’t bother me (granted, it’s not the match to strike the flame to light the candle one would hold to Stephen King, but it’s darker all the same). My crit partners all find it hilarious I can write dark and have to live light. I suppose, really, it’s the Scooby Doo in me. Solve the crime but soothe myself with Scooby Snacks to get through it. LOL

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Denise

  5. My husband loves the saw movies but I just can’t get into all the gore. Must be because I was a lab tech for 20 years and blood and gore just isn’t scary. Ah, Scooby Doo, the perfect scary show! LOL!

Leave a Reply

