Film Noirish: The Thin Man

The topic of the day–favorite film, book or anything noir.  Part of my wants to just point out the black dress in my closet and call it done.  But I did a little research and found out one of my all time favorite films is considered a pre-noir film, a genre pre-cursor. The Thin Man reigns as one of my favorites—not because of the mystery or the noirish backdrop, but because the banter between Nick and Nora Charles was, is and I’m betting always shall be, some of the wittiest written. Ever.

William Powell and Myrna Loy in After the Thin Man trailer

Here a few choice selections. But if you an watch the movie. Nothing can compare with the way the deliver these terse, perfect interchanges, which show in seconds, the depth of love and the dry wit of a good relationship.

Nora:  You asleep?

Nick:  Yes

Nora: Good. I want to talk to you.

Or this one.

Nora:  How many drinks have you had?

Nick:  This will make six Martinis.

Nora:  (speaking to the waiter) All right. Will you bring me five more Martinis, Leo? Line them right up here.

Or this one.

Nora:  Pretty girl.

Nick:  Yes. She’s a very nice type.

Nora:  You got types?

Nick:  Only you, darling. Lanky brunettes with wicked jaws.

And then of course, there was Asta. Always good for a smile.

Asta in After the Thin Man trailer

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on November 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I’m on a film theme this week. I’m over at Darker Temptations discussing another favorite, The Thin Man.

  2. Love this post and I also loved The Thin Man, and so many of the Spencer/Hepburn collaborations!

Leave a Reply

