Your Secrets Are My Secret

Secrets

Pst. Grab a glass of champagne and have a seat. No. No. I won’t try to wheedle your secrets from you. Don’t have to, see? Because *my* secret is right here. In the cards I read. Oh, yes. Tarot cards. You needn’t believe in order for them to work. Let’s pretend you’re one of my clients. You called, made an appointment, and here we are. I’ll ask that you NOT tell me what’s bothering you. I’d prefer you not say anything at all, initially. The cards should tell me exactly what you’re concerned about. I count on it, in fact, as a method by which I assure myself (as much as possible) that I’m not just reading your body language or vocal intonations and telling you what you want to hear in a session. For this reason, 95% of my readings happen over the phone, not in person. I can’t read body language I can’t see. Is it perfect assurance that the readings are ‘real’? Probably not. I’m not sure there is any perfect assurance. I can only focus on the cards I pull for you and talk about what they tell me.

t-robin

This is my preferred deck. The Robin Wood Tarot. (The image should be linked to the store that sells the deck and that supplied this graphic – if I did it correctly…) After shuffling, I lay out an 11 card spread called a modified Celtic Cross. The first three cards go in the middle. Question card, cover card, and cross card. These three cards describe your situation. When I read, I talk about those three cards, first as individual cards, and then as a group. After I’ve done that, I ask for feedback. “Does this make sense? Does this describe your situation?” Most of the time, clients say yes and we go on with the rest of the reading. On the few occasions someone has said no, I reshuffle and try again. If we’re still not getting it, I stop the reading, and ask to reschedule. A client never pays for a reading that didn’t work. Almost always, at the rescheduled session, we get it right. It is rare, but it does happen that I just can’t read for someone. I refer that person to another card reader – one I call upon to read for me from time to time – someone I know will treat them well and respectfully.

Why is my card reading a secret, you ask? It isn’t, exactly. It’s merely ‘not widely known’. I’m not even sure why. Maybe because I’m an introvert and being on the phone with several clients a day induces a mild panic attack? Funny. I really do enjoy reading for people, when it’s in limited doses – like the arrangement I have now. Could I raise my prices? Sure. But I want people to be able to afford asking for information. (The cards will never tell you what to do – they only offer information and/or new ways to look at a situation.) Could I push for more clients? Probably. But I’m not sure I’d be doing anyone a service by it. I like card reading because it seems to help the people I read for. I want to make very, very sure that ego and greed don’t enter into that equation. So I go slowly. Carefully. Ready to yank myself back by the scruff of the neck should I start trying to fake it.

Now. Shall we shuffle and have a look at your cards for real? No? I understand. Here. Allow me to top up that champagne. Enjoy the relaunch party – and never fear. No permission, no reading. Your secrets are safe.

And don’t forget:

Surprise Giveaways

At the end of our two weeks of secrets, they’ll be an author gift basket giveaway.  Each author gets to choose from one of the following three items to put in the basket:  1) an ebook; 2) a print book; or 3) a gift card.  We aren’t telling. Secrets, remember?  So the winner will receive four surprise prizes.

How do you win?

Easy. Comment on the blog post of our authors.  All commenters will be assigned a number and entered into a raffle. A winner will be chosen with random.org, which selects numbers at–you guessed it–random.  You can increase your chances of winning by commenting on several authors’ posts. There are four of us, so if you comment on all four of our blog posts, we will assign you four numbers in the raffle. If you comment on just three, then you’ll be assigned three numbers, and so forth.

Come and join the fun.  What’s your secret?

 

About Marcella Burnard

Author of fast-paced, action-packed SFR and Fantasy

Posted on April 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. OMG. I also read cards Marcella, but not professionally as you do. I’m so stoked to find out this secret about you. 🙂 My friend just bought be the Rosetta Tarot for my birthday. 🙂

  2. My secret is actually quite a big secret, but not mine to tell.

  3. I think I knew this, but you are very talented as I do know.

  4. That sounds so interesting. I have never had a card reading, but mainly because I don’t know anyone who could do it. I have had tea leaves read before.
    These things fascinate me. 😉
    Thank you for sharing, Marcella!

  1. Pingback: Here’s my secret. What’s yours? #Giveaway for secrets | Darker Temptations

Leave a Reply

