Why So Evil?


Photo credit: dmscs from morguefile.com

Evil minions are not people I normally think about. Yeah, well, bad people exist and make for a great story. But, I don’t want to like the evil minion, or root for him in any way. If I’m emotionally attached to the E.M., it’s too sad when he gets what he deserves. I’m old fashion that way. I grew up when the good guys wore white hats. If there has to be a ‘bad guy/gal’, then I want to have no doubt that this person deserves his wicked fate.

But sometimes I’m surprised by the fate of an E.M. It’s a well known factoid that in writing great evil characters, there needs to be a ‘soft’ side to the character. Or, a believable motivation why the character is so evil. I admit that when Darth Vadar was unmasked, it shocked me how gentle he looked. My heart went out to him, and I was happy to see him back to his ‘old self’ standing alongside Obi Wan and Yoda. From purely detesting Darth Vadar for three movies, in the last few seconds of the third film, I had a change of heart. That’s a great E.M.

Love and Peace!

Viki

website
blog
Facebook
Twitter


Viki Lyn: Award winning author of paranormal and contemporary romances. You can find all of Viki’s books at the following sites: Amazon, All Romance Ebooks and GLBT Bookshelf.

Posted on June 17, 2014, in Viki Lyn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

