The Incredible 80s

We’re talking about our favourite decades.

I was a child in the 80s, so I didn’t really have any idea how amazing they were. I recently watched the  National Geographic documentary The 80s, narrated by Rob Lowe, and it was a somewhat eye opening experience. Some of the things I vaguely remember, some of them were complete news to me.

One of the most memorable occurrences for me and my family was when the Berlin Wall came down in 1989. I am half German and lived in Germany at that time. My grandmother had been cut off from her family because of the Wall. I only met her bother when I was a tween because he had reached an age where he was allowed to leave East Germany. Years before that, one of his nieces had done the impossible-she had escaped East Germany by hiding in a false bottom in a car. As I said, I was pretty young. As a child you don’t understand what she had gone through to do what she did. I remember my mum and my aunt speaking about it in awed voices, but I wasn’t sure what was so important about it.

Now, looking back with adult eyes, I am amazed at her bravery.

So when the Wall came down it had a special meaning for my family;).

But the 80s also had Jane Fonda, New Coke (something I missed completely), computers, Ghostbusters and The Goonies, and shoulder pads. All in all it was pretty cool;).

321_jane_fonda_80s

 

new_coke

comp

Unknown

Do you have a favourite memory of the 80s?

About Tina Christopher

Erotic Romance writer

Posted on July 19, 2014, in Tina Christopher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

