Back to Innocence (nah)

Marilyn Monroe in Niagara

I must be truthful. My favorite decade of last century is the 60s because people broke rules, dreamed big, and lived for a better w0rld. But two of my blogger peeps did the 60s so well, I’ll take another tack.  I’ll pick the 50s. They felt rocking, full of hope and promise. But society was fraying at the edges, and they danced to keep it at bay.

The 50’s shows up as an innocent time, and there is an appeal to that. Music was fresh, TV was still a new medium (I still watch I Love Lucy and Mr. Ed Reruns), movies were breaking new boundaries (Rashomon, Streetcar Named Desire, All About Eve, Rebel Without A Cause, On the Waterfront, Forbidden Planet).  There was an honesty in its innocence, a faith in the world that is provides hope to everyone who can partake. It broke open in the 60s, with the realization that not everyone could partake in the same way at the same level. And that we all looked at the world through very different lenses.

Desi Arnaz Lucille Ball I Love Lucy Lucy's Bicycle Trip

But we’ve seem to have lost that sense of innocence, replaced by technology, speed, and constant change. While today’s life is scarier, I like its pace and promise. While I admit to a pinch of nostalgia for more seemingly innocent times, and like the rhythm of the 1950s, I really don’t want to go back there.

How about you?

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on July 22, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

