Having a god to dinner (and a #giveaway)

LifeReignited At my dinner party, the guest of honor is Forseti, Norse god of justice and truth.  He is a pivotal character in my soon to be released novella, Life Reignited. Because his vocation is arbitration, he focues his full attention on the person talking and the topic at hand. His power is to make each person’s voice feel valued. Some dinner party guest, huh?  Here’s a snippet from the book, where we meet our silver-tongued god.

 

“Welcome to Norway.” The god’s voice flowed like honey over the room. A sense of peace settled in Sander’s gut. From the awestruck looks on everyone else’s faces, they felt it too. “I am Forseti,” he continued, leaning forward, eyes moving from one person to the next. Now that made sense. Forseti was the Norse god of justice and truth, known for his mediation and arbitration skills and a voice that could calm a raging storm.

Forseti is accompanied by Sigrid, a Valkyrie who shadows his every move. There may be a later love story in there somewhere but for now, its the backdrop of Phoebe’s and Sander’s story.  I’d invite them too, because not only are they both brilliant and insightful, Sander has a quirky sense of  humor. He loves to quote old TV shows.  Phoebe, an Amazon warrior, loves to play along.  Here’s a snippet. I’m giving away a prize to the person who identifies the two TV shows quoted below.  Remember both my protagonists are over 50. Fun, yes?

“Everything hurts,” Phoebe complained as she pulled her boots off and dropped them by the front door of Sander’s—no—their hotel room.

“My poor Phoebe. Faster than a speeding bullet. More powerful than a locomotive. Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound. But still basically human.”

“Darn. Darn. Darn. Darn.” She beamed at him. “I wouldn’t have it any other way for all the power left on Olympus.”

“Then let me show you how us maturing humans deal with muscle pain. Strip.”

“Professor Xenos. You take liberties.”

A low chuckle started in his throat and ended in his eyes.

 

What does one serve to a god. Clearly, there would be several kinds of fish. It is the Norse pantheon.  Salmon, herring, and cod.  And beer and wine, flowing all night, from pitchers that never empty.  Well, the gods should help with the evening, don’t you think?

Plates piled high with fruit, bowls of steaming chowder and fresh baked bread, platters of cheese, and of course dessert. Apple cake. Come, join us. There will be plenty.  When the gods come to dinner, it really must be a banquet.

 

Life Reignited releases on September 3 from Ellora’s Cave.

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on August 12, 2014, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie Romance Author and commented:

    I’m having a giveaway. Read on to find out what to do.

  2. Well, I know Superman is one. Not sure of the other!

  3. Has to be THE MUNSTERS and ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN.

    Showing my age. I loved both of those shows.

    • Spot on, Mary. You’re a winner. Prize is a deck of Ellora Cave’s card. If you would like it, please send me your mailing address to sabrinagarie@gmail.com and I will forward it on. Thanks for visiting! I also put quotes from Gilligan’s Island, I Love Lucy, Get Smart and Rocky and Bullwinkle in the book. I had a blast writing it. 🙂

  4. Sounds like some party, Sabrina. Of course I am sure about Superman. Is the other quote from Frasier?

  5. The Adventures of Superman (Intro) and The Munsters (Herman Munster dialog)

    Mindy 🙂
    Birdsooong@comcast.ne

    • Well done, Mindy.. You’re a winner. The prize is a deck of Ellora’sCave cards. If you would like it, please send me your mailing address to sabrinagarie@gmail.com and I will forward it on. Thanks for visiting! I also put quotes from Gilligan’s Island, I Love Lucy, Get Smart and Rocky and Bullwinkle in the book. I had a blast writing it. 🙂

  6. Oh wow! I think you picked me 8D (Mindy 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

